The Laura Marshall Memorial Award for Innovation

We are excited to announce the Laura Marshall Award for Innovation 2019. In recent years entries have tended to focus mainly on formulation formats but remember; innovation in our industry can encompass all aspects from the latest formulation formats to new test methods, innovative packaging format, electronic advances and beyond.  So, get those creative juices flowing!


Voting takes the form of a token to be placed in your chosen finalist’s display in the award zone in the exhibition hall. At the end of the first day the votes will be counted and the award presented at the SCS Annual Dinner.


The Innovation encompasses all aspects of the industry from the latest formulation to new test methods, an innovative packaging format, electronic advances and beyond.


The entries will be judged on a range of aspects covering ‘Does the product live up to the innovation claimed’ – such as the science and the novelty, ‘The Impact of the Innovation’- could this deliver a step-change for the industry? and ‘Is the Innovation clear to the consumer?’ – would the person on the street understand and appreciate it?

The 2019 Laura Marshall Award Finalists:

And the 2019 winner is….

The Judges

An independent panel of judges including an end consumer, academic, industry body, product developer and the SCS President will select 6 finalists which will be on display at SCS Formulate where the final decision will be made by the visitors to the exhibition who will each have the opportunity to cast one vote. Finalists will be assisted to create a show-board to promote and explain their innovation at the exhibition and we encourage finalists to promote their innovation.

Emma Meredith

Director-General, CTPA

Emma is a pharmacist by profession and is Director-General of CTPA (the Cosmetic, Toiletry & Perfumery Association) which is the voice of the UK cosmetics and personal care industry, representing manufacturers, brand owners, distributors, exporters of cosmetic products and suppliers to the industry.  Emma is responsible for the strategic direction of CTPA and is also leading the Association’s work focussing on the UK’s exit from the EU and the future UK landscape; external stakeholder engagement; and international relations.

Emma has been a member of the SCS since 2003 and has been privileged to undertake several active roles within the Society, including Chair of the Scientific Programme Committee (SP), Council member and Honorary Secretary, and is extremely honoured to be a past President.  Emma was fortunate to work with Laura Marshall when Laura was a member of SCS Council and Chair of SP.

Robin Parker

Technical Director, Acheson & Acheson

Robin Parker is the Technical Director of Acheson & Acheson, a UK manufacturer of premium skin care and toiletries. In 2018 Acheson & Acheson were acquired by The Hut Group. Robin began his career as a formulator with Max factor and has subsequently worked with a number of UK based contract manufacturers developing and supplying products to most of the UK’s high street retailers and many well-known brands. Working as a supplier to many diverse brands requires Acheson & Acheson to offer innovation across a wide area of expertise, one of the most important being natural and environmentally sensitive raw material sourcing. Robin is a Past President of the SCS and currently sits on two of the CTPA committees.

Stewart Long

Mel Cheekoory

Mel has a passion for cosmetics combined with over 10 year working for the Society of Cosmetics Scientist, having key responsibility for managing the societies membership.

Mel has also played an active role in promoting the profession through awareness campaigns and scrub up on science competitions in schools across the UK as well being a committee member responsible for organising the Laura Marshall Award.

Milica Stevic

Lecturer at London College of Fashion, MSc Cosmetic Science Course

Milica teaches units relating to formulation and production of cosmetics. She received her PhD in Electro-analytical Chemistry and Masters in Physical Chemistry from the University of Belgrade, Serbia. Her research interests include personalised cosmetics, smart cosmetic packaging, and cosmetic devices. Dr Stevic is a board member of the Packaging Society, and a Fellow of the IOM3.